“Give it or Get it’ holiday makeup picks: no.5

30Dec10

Besides mistletoe, eggnog, Rudolf & tinsel . . . the holidays are also the perfect time of year for new makeup.  Why?  Well all the cosmetic companies flip out between Thanksgiving & New Years, offering sales, limited edition product, and value sets.  If makeup wasn’t on your list to Santa, and you’ve finished checking everyone off your list, then this is the perfect opportunity to snag a little something for yourself.  Happy shopping & merry merry!

Sephora “LashStash Mascara Deluxe Sampler


Who is it for?

Such an easy gift to give.  Who doesn’t love mascara?  From your 80 year old granny to your 12 year old niece, your ultra-natural yoga instructor to your uber-glam hairstylist, everyone wears it.  And seems like we are all constantly in need of a new one.

What’s in it?

Mascaras by:

Too Faced

Josie Maran

Tarte

Make Up For Ever

Blinc

Laura Mercier (great natural choice for work)

Buxom

Benefit (its the BadGal Lash… one of my faves of all time)

Sephora

Hourglass

and a Tarte eyelash curler

What do I do with it?

They each last about a month, so you could buy it and have a year’s worth of mascara for the price of one.  Or switch off: a clean & natural GOGO Argan Oil mascara for the gym, and Blic’s tubed Kiss Me mascara for date night.

Pro Tip

I’ve probably never in my life bought the same mascara twice.  I’m constantly searching for the “holy grail.”  If you are like me & have multiple tubes on deck, here are a few tips.  Remember that you should change your mascara every 3 months max.  Throw away your tube if there is any change in aroma or texture, and pitch if you get sick.  Also good to know?  A water based makeup remover is best for the gentlest cleansing, but if your mascara is waterproof, use an oil based version instead.

Get it here at Sephora.com

Does a mascara-of-the-month set make you giddy?  Or do you know the perfect person to get this for?  Let me know your thoughts. . .


3 Responses to ““Give it or Get it’ holiday makeup picks: no.5”

  1. Like you, I’m always looking for the perfect mascara but can’t seem to find the perfect combo of brush type + volumizing. My issue: The standard mascara brush doesn’t allow my lashes to sweep through the bristles enough to give a good coat. I end up continually sweeping the brush and it takes forever. Then I ALWAYS get dots of mascara on my eye lids from the multiple layers and pressing. Do you know of a mascara that would fit the bill of a less bristly brush (if that makes sense) yet one that holds enough product to apply a good healthy coat without having to sit there forever and keep brushing?

    • Ashlee, it sounds like what you need is a narrower wand so that it doesn’t get on your lids, and a “volumizing” formula. Have you tried Definicils? It should separate your lashes enough to not make a mess, but give you the thickness you want. Or maybe Bad Gal Lash. Other than that, your next step would be to move to a tubing mascara. You definitely will only need one swipe, and it will coat each lash with a tube of color, thickening each one. Let me know how it works for you!

  2. 3 Alexis

    I LOVE this!! I am totally a mascara junkie. I think I will buy this for me!


Leave a Reply

