‘Give it or Get it’ holiday makeup picks: no.3

28Dec10

Besides mistletoe, eggnog, Rudolf & tinsel . . . the holidays are also the perfect time of year for new makeup.  Why?  Well all the cosmetic companies flip out between Thanksgiving & New Years, offering sales, limited edition product, and value sets.  If makeup wasn’t on your list to Santa, and you’ve finished checking everyone off your list, then this is the perfect opportunity to snag a little something for yourself.  Happy shopping & merry merry!

Essie nail polish for J. Crew


Who is it for?

Anyone who (like me) believes that everything J. Crew touches turns to gold (or, er, mauve).  I’ve literally become OBSESSED with the J. Crew color palette du jour:  muted neutrals with one unexpected punch of color.  It started with the pom-poms in their Holiday windows.  Cream, blush, peach and metallic grey with a pop of bright coral-y tangerine.  I’ve dreamed up entire inspiration boards based on this color scheme for my wedding welcome party.  In fact (and this may make me crazy) I based my Christmas eve outfit on the idea of muted neutrals with a pop.  I have a new red-orange lipstick that I’m so overly in love with its scary (Outrageous).  With intense lips as my pop of color, I wore a mauve dress, deeper & brown-er mauve cardi, taupe (on the browner side) boots, taupe (on the grey-er side) bag and a peach, silver-y grey & cream statement necklace.  Then I saw this nail polish set that EXACTLY matched my outfit.  Needless to say, I am in color palette heaven here.

What’s in it?

This set is called vixen vermilionaire (how ridic cute is that?) and includes the following four colors:

demure vixen: an iridescent cocoa mauve

vermillionaire: a heart-pounding red-orange

BFF best boyfriend: a classic creamy mauve

mink muffs: a smoky plush taupe

What do I do with it?

Um, paint your nails with it.  Or better yet, take it to the spa & have it done for you.  If you just got engaged over the Holidays, then you need a mani anyway for all the peeps staring at your hand.

Pro Tip

I kinda love the idea of one of the neutrals on your hands with Vermillionaire on just your ring finger.  In fact, I love that idea so much I’m going to go do it right now. . .

Get it here at JCrew.com

Would you wear these colors? Do you know the perfect person to get this for?  Or is it you forming that pool of drool outside the J.Crew windows like I am?  Let me know your thoughts. . .


No Responses Yet to “‘Give it or Get it’ holiday makeup picks: no.3”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

