Best Dressed: Golden Globes 2010

21Jan10

Best Dressed: 2010 Golden Globes

The rainy Los Angeles weather introduced a new accessory to the Red Carpet: an umbrella was the must have item at the 2010 Golden Globes.  Here are my picks for “Best Dressed” . . .

Maggie Gyllenhaal in RM by Roland Mouret with Bulgari jewels

*sigh* I admit, I have a bias toward anything and everything Maggie does, including her red carpet choices.  But this year, I’m not the only one to give her a Best Dressed nod.  (I also picked Maggie for 2009 Golden Globes best dressed.)  Critics a-plenty also handed her the honor, from E!s Fashion Police to Kojo on Entertainment Weekly.  Well deserved.

Anna Paquin in Stella McCartney

Everyone loves a golden goddess, and Anna rocked the metallic trend best in this Stella McCartney stunner.  The casual hair keeps the dress from looking too pageant worthy: a wise beauty choice.

Emily Blunt at the 2010 Golden Globes in Dolce & Gabbana

This would have been my favorite, except for the unfortunate white-ish cast her foundation gave off .  To avoid this unfortunate beauty oops, check your foundation in a photo before you head out to an event.  Certain minerals or even sunscreens are meant to act as light diffusers, thus reflecting light from the camera flash.  Otherwise, this look was beautiful, especially the choice to leave hair wavy on the rainy evening.

Drew Barrymore in Atelier Versace

Drew has had perhaps more than her fair share of red carpet fashion blunders.  I adore her, so I’m going to excuse her by saying its her ultra creative mind and total commitment to her characters that leads her astray (in 2009, I think she thought she was Edie Beale).  It’s that history that made me gasp with excitement upon her red carpet arrival.  She looked amazing.  I’m looking forward to see this transformation last for the rest of awards season.

Olivia Wilde in Gucci

Olivia Wilde is another one of my red carpet faves.  The Gucci dress did not disappoint, making her seem draped in glittering liquid gunmetal.  The “I-dream-of-Jeannie-esque” styling I could live with out though.  Up close, the corners of her cat-eye could use a little blending, and the curly high-pony looked a little too purchased-at-a-mall-cart.  But I’m only this picky because of the high standard she set last year, and she’s still earned her spot with the best.

Cameron Diaz in Alexander McQueen

Cameron pulls off bold color better than anyone else, and season after season, I am thrilled with her gutsy choices.  In a sea of black, nude, and blush, Cameron stood out in red, and looked fab.  And you know I was loving the red lip.  As her stylist Rachel Zoe would say, “I die.”

Christina Aguilera in Versace

Holy makeover, batman!  Christina has never looked fresher or more beautiful.  She’s abandoned her recent retro-pinup look for a modern, glamorous bob and soft smoky eye.  Perfectly on-trend in her blush and metallic gown, she absolutely glows.  I literally gasped when she came out to present.  Fabulous.

Amy Poehler in Jay Godfrey

I can’t remember a time when I saw Amy Poehler in anything but black, so this red gown earns her a place on my best dressed.  Her hair and makeup perfectly completed her look, but the best part was her the glow she had from her honey, Will Arnett.

Lea Michele in Oscar de la Renta

If I was a new star, coming out of nowhere to attend my first awards season with a hit show, I would be just as excited as Lea Michele.  With Glee as the darling of critics and fans alike, she certainly had her choice of designer gowns at her disposal.  Bravo for choosing Oscar de la Renta: the choice for a Cinderella moment.

Ginnifer Goodwin in Vionnet

I have the same dark, short hair and fair skin that Ginnifer Goodwin rocks (although I would kill to look as gorge as she does) and I’m not gonna lie and say that doesn’t add to why I adore her.  She often appears in my favorite jewel tones, and this season is no exception.  Critics picked on her for this dress, and although I admit it was less dressy than a Globes gown should be, I loved it.  So there.

Penelope Cruz in Armani Prive

Have you ever seen Penelope Cruz looking less than amazing?  I didn’t think so, and this year was no exception.  She channeled a little Sophia Loren in this gown, who coincidentally also appeared at the Globes in a black off-the-shoulder gown.  Si bella!

Chloë Sevigny in Valentino

Okay, so the silhouette doesn’t photograph so great, except from the side.  I’ll admit that the gown is a better editorial choice than for the red carpet.  But Chloë is a risk taker, and I will always stand behind a gutsy choice over something safe.  Besides, her slicked back knot is the newest red carpet trend, and the soft violet shade echoed the color of the evening.

Marion Cotillard in Christian Dior

The spring runways were full of the lingerie trend, and Marion is one of the first stars to take it to the red carpet.  I adore the emerald hue and asymmetric neckline.  Coming off her fabulous Critic’s Choice gown (also Dior), that makes this french beauty 2-for-2 on my best dressed list.

all photos Style.com

3 Responses to “Best Dressed: Golden Globes 2010”

  1. This is way better than E! News! Beautifully done!

  2. 2 Joanna

    It was nice to see Amy Poehler in a color, but she looked a little stocky don’t you think? I LOVED Maggie’s dress, but Sookie (Anna Paquin to you) was my absolute hands down favorite of the night! I don’t dig the tan revival that Penelope Cruz was sporting with her two toned hair, but she is hot and it doesn’t matter what the mortals think of her. And Janine, this was beautifully done! Kudos!

  3. What is growing out of Drew Barrymore? Oh Versace … Sigh


Leave a Reply

