Red Carpet Trends: Golden Globes 2011

16Jan11

Juicy Fruit

Christina Hendricks in tomato, Emma Stone in peach, Julianne Moore in raspberry, January Jones in apple, Sofia Vergara in cherry, Kyra Segwick in melon . . . these ladies should be on top of a Chiquita sombrero with all these juicy colors.  I adore this trend . . . and it was one I predicted with all the hope I could muster.  It’s so fresh & pretty to see women in shades of warm red.  Perhaps Pantone agrees with its 2011 Color of the Year?

Juicy Fruit 2: the Lipstain Version

Nothing is as effortless as a fruit stained lip.  It seems chic and almost child-like:  think kool-aid or popsicles.  Raspberry, pomegranate, cherry . . .  any flavor will last through the awards show with a pop of color.  So, no need to pull out your lip gloss during a commercial break.  Ahem, Angelina.

seen on Natalie Portman, January Jones, Mila Jovovitch, Anne Hathaway

Casual Friday

It seems my fashion friends on twitter are torn on this trend, but I, for one, am a fan.  I think its unexpected and fresh to pair a fabulous gown with casual hair.  Such a bohemian luxe attitude fits the mood of the Golden Globes perfectly.  You’ve gotta admit its an improvement to the Palin-esque french twists with 4 billion cans of hairspray.

seen on Sandra Bullock, Olivia Wilde, Anne Hathaway, Leighton Meester, Mandy Moore, Elisabeth Moss

In the Nude

Love. Love. Love. this trend.  It was a no-brainer to predict, as nude gowns were everywhere on the runways.  Some stars went almost beige or khaki, like Michelle Williams in Valentino, while others shimmered like a bottle of sparkling Prosecco (cue Dianna Agron).  Such a gorgeous way to show a little skin without revealing anything.

seen on Scarlett Johansson, Dianna Agron, Leighton Meester, Michelle Williams, Sandra Bullock, Dianna Agron, Carrie Underwood, Vanessa Williams, Mila Jovovitch

 

The New Modesty

I’m crediting (or blaming, depending how you feel) this trend to Mad Men.  Right now, being covered up feels very modern, very on-trend.  Whether its a high neckline or sheer overlay, stars left something to the imagination on the red carpet tonight.  And hallelujah, there were SLEEVES!  Look, I know I predicted this as a trend, but it was mostly wishful thinking based on my personal hatred of strapless dresses in my wedding gown search.  Those sleeves also left room for another mini-trend: Jane Fonda, Angelina & Anne Hathaway all rocked the defined shoulder.  Love it.

seen on Leighton Meester, Angelina Jolie, Anne Hathaway, Jennifer Lopez, Annette Benning, Julianne Moore, Jane Fonda, Emma Stone, Claire Danes, Michelle Williams

Pepto Pink

I’m not going to hate on Molly Ringwald.  I loved Pretty in Pink.  If I was a celeb I may try to have a Malibu Barbie moment too.  I’ll admit it.  I only hope that in that occasion I would sport the bubblegum like Claire Danes, and not so much like… um… everyone else.

seen on Claire Danes, Lea Michelle, Natalie Portman, Julianna Marguilies, Megan Fox

Emerald City

I know, I know, I said sapphire in my predictions.  But emerald is just one jewel tone away, right?  In the midst of the usual metallic, nude, and black gowns, these “jaded” ladies look confidently, uniquely chic.  Here’s to going green!

seen on Elisabeth Moss in Donna Karan, Catherine Zeta-Jones in Monique Lhullier, Mila Kunis in Vera Wang, Angelina Jolie in Versace

Baby Got Back

The “golden globes” stayed covered up in 2011, perhaps after all the jokes made last year at the expense of Mariah Carey’s plunging neckline.  But turn them around, and the ladies were more than ready to show a little skin.  From the nape of their necks to their waistlines, celebs flaunted the body part du jour, a toned back.  (photo JustJared)

seen on Anne Hathaway, Eva Longoria, Emma Stone

 

Orange You Glad You Brought Your Lipstick?

Okay, yes, that pun was bad, but this trend is soooooooo good.  Oranges of all shades have pretty much ruled fashion, and makeup is no exception.  A red-orange kisser for Christina Hendricks?  A coral pout on Michelle Williams?  Yes, please!  Notice the lack of shine on these lovely lips.  Remember when I told you to ditch your gloss, and predicted the stars would leave the sticky stuff at home too?  This trend has been a long time coming, and I for one am ready to kiss my gloss goodbye (I know, *groan* bad pun again).

seen on Michelle Williams, Christina Hendricks, Mila Kunis

all photos from Fabsugar

Thoughts?  Would you try any of these trends?  Which do you like the most?

3 Responses to “Red Carpet Trends: Golden Globes 2011”

  1. I was so happy with all the Glee wins! And I love love love Lea Michelle’s hair! Finally I have a picture of a hairstyle that I can possibly use on my wedding day :)


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Red Carpet Trends: 2011 Golden Globes « makeupbyjanine -- Topsy.com
  2. 2 Red Carpet Trends: SAG Awards 2011 « makeupbyjanine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

